2018 Society of Authors Translation Prizes Announced

This evening at a ceremony at the British Library in London, the Society of Authors in the UK announced their 2018 translation prizes. You’ll find the shortlists for this years prizes here, and the winners in the various categories below:

The TA First Translation Prize was shared by translator Janet Hong and editor Ethan Nosowsky for the translation from Korean of The Impossible Fairytale by Han Yujoo (Tilted Axis Press).

The John Florio Prize for translations from Italian went to Gini Alhadeff for her translation of I Am the Brother of XX (And Other Stories) by Fleur Jaeggy, with an honorable mention to Cristina Viti for her translation of Stigmata by Gëzim Hajdari (Shearsman Books).

The Schlegel-Tieck Prize for translations from German went to Tony Crawford for his translation of Wonder Beyond Belief by Navid Kermani (Polity Press), with an honorable mention to Tess Lewis for her translation of Kruso by Lutz Seiler (Scribe).

The Scott Moncrieff Prize for translations from French went to Sophie Yanow for her translation of Pretending is Lying by Dominique Goblet (New York Review Comics), with an honorable mention to Frank Wynne for his translation of Vernon Subutex 1 by Virginie Despentes (MacLehose Press).

The Bernard Shaw Prize for translations from Swedish went to Frank Perry for his translation of Bret Easton Ellis and the Other Dogs by Lina Wolff (and other stories), with an honorable mention to Deborah Bragan-Turner for her translation of The Parable Book by Per Olov Enquist (MacLehose Press).

The Premio Valle Inclán Prize for translations from Spanish went to Megan McDowell for her translation of Seeing Red by Lina Meruane (Atlantic), with an honorable mention to Daniel Hahn for his translation of In the Land of Giants by Gabi Martínez (Scribe).

The Saif Ghobash Banipal Prize for translations from Arabic went to Luke Leafgren for his translation of The President’s Gardens by Muhsin Al-Ramli (MacLehose Press).

More information about each of the prizes can be found on the Society of Authors website. Congratulations to all the translators whose work was honored this year!

Share this!

Comments are closed.

© Susan Bernofsky 2010-2018. All rights reserved. "Translationista" is a registered trademark.