2017 ALTA Awards Announced

Just back from a whirlwind 40th Anniversary ALTA Conference in Minneapolis, where (among other things), the winners of ALTA’s various prizes were announced, including the National Translation Awards (NTA) in poetry and prose as well as the Italian Prose in Translation Award (IPTA), the Lucien Stryk Prize for a work translated from an Asian language, and the Cliff Becker Prize for an unpublished work of poetry (winner to be published in a bilingual edition from White Pine Press).

You’ll find shortlists and longlists for some of these prizes on the ALTA blog (and here). But to cut to the chase, here are this year’s winning translators

National Translation Award in Prose:

Esther Allen, for her translation of Zama by Antonio di Benedetto (NYRB Classics)

National Translation Award in Poetry:

Daniel Borzutzky, for his translation of Valdiva by Galo Ghigliotto (co•im•press)

Lucien Stryk Prize:

Jennifer Feeley, for Not Written Words by Xi Xi (Zephyr Press)

Italian Prose in Translation Award

Matt Holden, for We Want Everything by Nanni Balestrini (Verso Books)

Cliff Becker Prize:

Anne Fisher and Derek Mong for The Wondrous Science by Maksim Amelin.

Congratulations to all the translators honored with these awards!

Share this!

Comments are closed.

© Susan Bernofsky 2010-2018. All rights reserved. "Translationista" is a registered trademark.