2015 Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize Shortlist

poster_oxford_translation_day_2015_2To my delight, my translation of Jenny Erpenbeck’s The End of Days has been named a finalist for the 2015 Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize. This annual prize honors the art of translation and is awarded during a day of workshops and talks called Oxford Translation Day – to be held June 13 this year (program here). Last year’s winner was Susan Wicks for her translation of Valérie Rouzeau’s Talking Vrouz.

So here’s the full list of finalists for the 2015 award:

Susan Bernofsky for Jenny Erpenbeck’s The End of Days (Portobello Books)

Nick Caistor and Lorenza Garcia for André Neuman’s Talking to Ourselves (Pushkin Press)

Euan Cameron for Jean-Michel Guenassia’s The Incorrigible Optimists Club (Atlantic Books)

Will Firth for Aleksandar Gatalica’s The Great War (Istros Books)

Anne Stokes for Sarah Kirsch’s Ice Roses (Carcanet Press)

Geoffrey Strachan for Jérôme Ferrari’s The Sermon on the Fall of Rome (MacLehose Press)

Stefan Tobler for Clarice Lispector’s Água Viva (Penguin Books)

Paul Vincent for Erwin Mortier’s While the Gods were Sleeping (Pushkin Press)

For more information on the books and the prize, see the website of St Anne’s College, Oxford.

Share this!


  1. M, Mo says:


© Susan Bernofsky 2010-2018. All rights reserved. "Translationista" is a registered trademark.