NEA Announces 2016 Translation Fellowships

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 12.12.34 PMAs I wrote last year, the NEA’s budget for translation grants has fluctuated a bit over the past few years. The amount of money available for fellowships dipped to $275,000 this year (down from last year’s $300,000), but that’s still much better than the $200,000 the NEA was able to spend on these grants three years ago. This year, 20 awards were made (same as last year), but only two of them were at the $25,000 level – last year there were twice as many – with the rest set at $12,500. This year’s two top-tier grants go to Kit Schluter, to support his translation of a multigenre compilation of works by Marcel Schwob (1867-1905), and to 2014 National Translation Award winner Matvei Yankelevich, for his translation of a multigenre compilation of works by Elena Guro (1877-1913). Both projects propose to rediscover underappreciated artists from the past.

Here’s the complete list of grantees for 2016:

• Aron R. Aji
• Philip Boehm
• Maia Evrona
• Jeffrey Friedman
• María José Gimenez
• Ani Gjika
• Jennifer Grotz
• Kathleen Heil
• Jesse Lee Kercheval
• Michelle Har Kim
• Michael Leong
• Michael F. Moore
• Benjamin Paloff
• Kit Schluter
• William Schutt
• K.E. Semmel
• Donna Stonecipher
• Jeremy Tiang
• Will Vanderhyden
• Matvei Yankelevich

You can find more information about each of these translators and their projects on the NEA website.

And here’s an early heads-up: the application deadline for the 2017 NEA Translation Fellowships is December 8, 2015. Information and guidelines here.


Share this!

Comments are closed.

© Susan Bernofsky 2010-2018. All rights reserved. "Translationista" is a registered trademark.