2019 International DUBLIN Literary Award Longlist Announced

The International DUBLIN Literary Award is special in that books are nominated for it by libraries around the world (in 177 counties and counting); the prize thus reflects reading habits in many countries, a really smart and interesting way to look at literary tastes. Because of this, there’s a longer “lead time” for this prize than most others: the 2019 award will go to a book published in English in 2017. With a purse of €100,000 – with €25,000 of that going to the translator if a translated book wins, as has happened 9 times in the 23 years of the award – this is the largest prize given anywhere in the world for a single book (to my knowledge, anyhow). The participating libraries are asked to nominate books based on “high literary merit,” and all the nominations are published as a longlist. The ten-title shortlist will be arrived at in April by a panel of judges (Éilís Ní Dhuibhne, Martin Middeke, Hans Christian Oeser, Evie Wyld, and Ge Yan, with Eugene R. Sullivan as non-voting chair). Of the 141 titles on the longlist this year, 39 are works in translation. Here they are.

Translated Titles on the 2019 International DUBLIN Literary Award Longlist:

Beartown  Fredrik Backman Swedish Neil Smith
The Invisible Life of Euridice Gusmao Martha Batalha Portuguese Eric M. B. Becker
The 7th Function of Language Laurent Binet French Sam Taylor
The Vineyard Maria Dueñas Spanish Nick Caistor & Lorenza García
Special Envoy Jean Echenoz French Sam Taylor
Compass Mathiaqs Énard French Charlotte Mandell
Go, Went, Gone Jenny Erpenbeck German Susan Bernofsky
The Invented Part Rodrigo Fresán Spanish Will Vanderhyden
Return to the Dark Valley Santiago Gamboa Spanish Howard Curtis
A House in Norway Vigdis Hjorth Norwegian Charlotte Barslund
Sleeps Standing Moetū Witi Ihimaera Maori Hemi Kelly
You Should Have Left Daniel Kehlmann German Ross Benjamin
Of Darkness Josefine Klougart Danish Martin Aitken
The Harvest of Chronos Mojca Kumerdej Slovenian Rawley Grau
Ferocity Nicola Lagioia Italian Antony Shugaar
A Poison Apple Michel Laub Portuguese Daniel Hahn
Escape From Sunset Grove Minna Lindgren Finnish Kristian London
The End of Eddy Édouard Louis French Michael Lucey
The History of Bees Maja Lunde Norwegian Diane Oatley
The Temptation to be Happy Lorenzo Marone Italian Shaun Whiteside
Like a Fading Shadow Antonio Muñoz Molina Spanish Camilo A. Ramirez
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme Lars Mytting Norwegian Paul Russell Garrett
Mirror, Shoulder, Signal Dorthe Nors Danish Misha Hoekstra
Heretics Leonardo Padura Spanish Anna Kushner
The Death of the Perfect Sentence Rein Raud Estonian Matthew Hyde
To Die in Spring Ralf Rothmann German Shaun Whiteside
Adua Igiaba Scego Italian Jamie Richards
Tench Inge Schilperoord Dutch David Colmer
Fever Dream Samantha Schweblin Spanish Megan McDowell
Kruso Lutz Seiler German Tess Lewis
To the Back of Beyond Peter Stamm German Michael Hofmann
My Cat Yugoslavia Pajtim Statovci Finnish David Hackston
Monte Carlo Peter Terrin Dutch David Doherty
Naondel ; the Red Abbey Chronicles Maria Turtschaninoff Swedish A.A. Prime
They Know Not What They Do Jussi Valtonen Finnish Kristian London
Radiant Terminus Antoine Volodine French Jeffrey Zuckerman
The Consequences Niña  Weijers Dutch Hester Velmans
The Impossible Fairytale Han Yujoo Korean Janet Hong
The Image Interpreter Zoran Živković Serbian Randall A. Major

For the complete 141-title longlist as well as lots more information on the prize, visit the website of the International DUBLIN Literary Award. Congratulations to all the longlisted translators!

Share this!

Comments are closed.

© Susan Bernofsky 2010-2018. All rights reserved. "Translationista" is a registered trademark.