2012 Compass Awards To Be Presented Today

The Compass Award for translations of Russian poetry started up last year, and I blogged about it, but somehow seem to have neglected to announce this past year’s contest, which was dedicated to the work of Marina Tsvetaeva. Meanwhile, winners have been chosen, and the awards will be presented this afternoon at a ceremony at Poet’s House.

Here’s the list of commended translators:

1st prize (“Compass” and $300) Alyssa Gillespie, Associate professor of Russian Language and Literature; University of Notre Dame, for “The Poem of the End” (Alyssa is also the 2nd place winner in Compass Award-2011, the Gumilyov contest)

2nd prize ($150) Brian Droitcour, Graduate Student, Department of Comparative Literature, New York University, for “Upon a Red Steed”

3rd prize ($100) Leah Goldberger (a Russian-Arabic-English interpreter in Cairo, Egypt. ) and Eugene Serebryany (biology Ph.D. student in Cambridge, Massachusetts) for “An Attempt at Jealosy”

The awards will be presented by Irina Mashinski, the StoSvet Project director and co-editor of Cardinal Points Journal; Sibelan Forrester and Alexander Veytsman, judges; and Regina Khidekel, the director of the Russian-American Cultural Center. There’s a $5 entry fee to attend the ceremony, which will be held at 2:00 p.m. today, Saturday, Jan. 12, in Kray Hall at Poet’s House, 10 River Terrace, New York.

More details here.

Share this!

Comments are closed.

© Susan Bernofsky 2010-2018. All rights reserved. "Translationista" is a registered trademark.